Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksSecurity and Enforcement

​The Security and Enforcement Division of the Prime Minister’s Office oversees the two Strategic Themes under the Strategic Planning Framework for the Prime Minister’s Office (2005 – 2014) which are:

Strengthen the National Capabilities to Combat Crimes;
Strengthen the National capabilities to Manage National Crisis and Non-Traditional Security Concerns;

The security and enforcement agencies under the Prime Minister’s Office are as follows:

Royal Brunei Police Force;
Internal Security Department;
Anti-Corruption Bureau;
Narcotics Control Bureau;

The Security and Enforcement Division also coordinates administratively on finance and budgetary requirements of these security and  enforcement agencies in order for each agency to implement their own operational strategies in-line with the above mentioned Strategic Themes.

The National Security Committee (NSC)

The National Security Committee (NSC), previously known as Defense Executive Committee (DEC) was formally established on the 15th February 2007 which act as the national body on security matters in the country. NSC is chaired by the Deputy Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office and NSC’s secretariat is headed by the Permanent Secretary (Security and Enforcement) at the Prime Minister’s Office.

The roles of the NSC are as follows:

As a coordinating body to tackle issues on national securities;
As an advisory role to the Prime Minister on security matters;
To recommend best security policies for the Nation;
To identify and provide emphasis on core issues pertaining to national security and in-turn provide strategic directions to relevant Government agencies;

The NSC is supported by five executive working committees looking at issues ranging from maritime security, law enforcement, intelligence, technological support and cyber security.